replace coolant

Hello and happy easter. I am about to replace unknown coolant for G11 in my Syncro.  I have searched archives for method of removing coolant and wanted to check if there are other places the coolant in the system gets trapped/ released besides, 2 heads and 2 hoses at radiator.  I intend flushing a couple of times but just wanted to remove as much as possible first. thanks.  Greg WA

Hi Greg,

I am only new to Syncro's, so by no means an expert. I recently flushed mine (installed a new radiator), and only removed 11L. According to the Bentley the system holds 16L. I raised the front and drained from the screws in the heads (and also had the radiator out).

I flushed the system out with straight demineralised water (ran for a short time and drained again), it came out almost the same colour as the original coolant! (mine luckily has always had the correct coolant and came out spotless)

One thing I did a little different in bleeding the system, as well as filling per the Bentley, I also filled as much as I could through the bleed screw in the radiator. Took a bit of time, I put in near enough the same volume I removed each time, so was confident the system was properly bleed.

One word of warning, I have heard (I have no first hand experience) you can develop leaks after swapping coolants (the seals don't like the change of coolant type). Always best to run the correct coolant, just keep in mind leaks might develop later on, just keen an eye out for it! Maybe a few flushes with demineralised water first might help. (Please keep in mind running on water, the coolant has a lower boiling point, so don't let it get too hot)

Richard

Greg,

The Haynes manual suggest you open the thermostat bleeder valve, take off the hose to it and blast through with a hose until no coolant remains. There are 2 main hoses and you need to stick the hose in both and be prepared to get a bit wet!

I also used a Go Westy bleeder kit to get the new coolant in.