CV boots and adice please?

Good Morning Syncro Folks.

1:May i please ask for advice on where to purchase CV boot covers?

2: Am about to purchase a T3 Syncro from Vic, i live in Newcastle NSW and would like to replace the boots before driving it back (one is torn, so am thinking of replacing all, as it it just a matter of time before the others tear)

3: Any recommendations for a service and boot change any where around Mt Mascedon VIC?

4: Can a 1990 T3 Syncro 14" be fitted with 16" wheels (with the correct specs) without any other mods?

Hi there.

I live in the area and see the garage in Macedon often has old kombis outside. I have no experience with them though.

Another Syncro leaving Vic. Would be interested to hear about this one?

Jon.

Hello Jon.

Thank you for your reply.
May i ask if you know the name of the garage?

Sure, what would you like to know?

What boots are you after? Front outer or rears? Your best bet is probably Mick Motors or Tooleys.
Just be aware, the boots nowadays donā€™t last long. Best brand in the past was GKN/Spidan, but seems like they dropped in quality too.

VW Tiguan ones apparently fit too, but havenā€™t tested it.
Alternatively use some universal silicone ones. Problem here, you need a flange for the CV joint side.

I would just fix/tape a bag around it, drive it home and take time to fix them properly. Depends how many kā€™s are on them, might be advisable to change the whole joints.

For 16ā€ wheels, they will fit without any problems (as long as you stick to the right offset around ET30).
Rubber size is your issue. 215/70R16 fits quite well. Everything bigger requires some more modifications and perhaps increase in power/gear ratio.

Re John, sure he wants to know where you found that Syncro :wink:
And some details an pictures pls.

Cheers Arne

This place.

Macedon Automotive Services

Yeah just interested in the van really and the story behind it (photos would be great).